Munich

I made a little trip to Munich last week when it was – gasp – a bank holiday. For that reason, practically nothing was open, but I managed to see a lot of nice things there. Firstly, I explored the area around Marienplatz, which is the main historic square of the city. Even though a lot of the city was destroyed in the war, most of the buildings have survived pretty well (or been restored, I guess):

Then I took the U-Bahn to Münchner Freiheit, simply because I liked the name (“Freedom of Munich”). I was not expecting to find this amazing station when I got out:

And when you get out of the station it’s really nice. There is a big water feature and lots of cafés where people of all ages were sitting and enjoying ice creams, skateboarding, whatever. And of course, it was very clean!

I love this detail.

One of my biggest regrets is not being able to ride a bike. There are some lovely paths around the city. Maybe if I lived in Munich I’d be motivated to overcome it.

May I live in this building?

Dairy-free blueberry ice cream!

Mexican food place on Haimhauser Straße. Looked good, but was bad timing as I’d just finished my ice cream.

A wine tap in the wall! Out of order, sadly.

A little gift I got for my family.

So that was my brief stint in Munich. It’s a shame I was only able to be there for a day, but I’ll definitely be going back when I can afford it, as I loved my first impressions. Next time: Mexican food, English Garden (with the place where people surf on the river!), Nymphenburg Palace, record shopping!

I went there on the Bayern Ticket, which costs 21 € and can be used for one day on all regional trains in Bavaria, plus underground and stuff. I had to pay for an extra train ticket between Linz and Salzburg (the only Austrian station it’s valid from), but still pretty good value. Also, once again I was glad I brought my passport… it was checked as I went into Germany. But what would they do, chuck you off the train…?

P.S. I was supposed to be going back to England tomorrow, but I am unable to because of baggage handler strikes at Stansted Airport (pretty crucial, as I have two large suitcases). I now have 4 or so more days here. I was annoyed, because I’d been psyching myself up to be home – plus I’ve lost £100 from the previous ticket – but I suppose in some ways it’s a blessing in disguise. I’m looking forward to making the most of my last few Linz moments, and also to making my last trip of my time in Austria… stay tuned!

0 Responses to “Munich”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

